What Is Software Testing? Types Of Software Testing

What Is Software Testing? Types Of Software Testing

What is software testing?

Software testing means it is a process to check the application is working according to the requirement. And also to ensure that the application is defect-free, in order to produce the quality product. There are 2 different types of software testing. They are mentioned below.

  • Functional Testing.
  • Non-Functional Testing.

Functional Testing

Again functional testing contains different types of testing.

  1. Unit Testing.
  2. Integration Testing.
  3. System Testing.
  4. Sanity Testing.
  5. Smoke Testing.
  6. Interface Testing.
  7. Regression Testing.
  8. Acceptance/Beta Testing.

1. Unit Testing

Unit testing is a type of testing where individual components are tested. In order to know that each component/unit works as expected. So the name itself is called Unit testing.

2. Integration Testing

In integrated testing, all the individual units are combined and tested as a group. In order to expose the faults in the interaction between the testing units. Test stubs and test drivers are used to aid in integration testing.

3. System Testing

System testing is a type of testing to verify the complete and fully integrated software product. The purpose of this testing is to analyze end to end system specifications.

4. Sanity Testing

Sanity testing is a quick check that the application is rational. Sanity testing can be narrow and deep. Whenever a build is received then sanity testing can be performed.

5. Smoke Testing

The smoke testing consists of a non-exhaustive set of tests that aim to make sure that the most important functions work. It is also known as ‘Build verification Testing’. Why because based on the result it is decided that the build is still enough for future processing.

6. Interface Testing

Interface testing is testing to ensure that the Communication between 2 different software systems is working properly. The connection that integrates 2 components is called an interface. So it’s got that name interface testing.

7. Regression Testing

This regression testing purpose is to know that the recent modifications do not affect the existing features.

8. Acceptance/Beta Testing

The purpose of this acceptance testing is to estimate compliance with the business requirements and assess whether it is acceptable for delivery.

Non-functional Testing

It is a type of software testing to test non-functional aspects. They are mentioned below.

  1. Performance Testing.
  2. Load Testing.
  3. Security Testing.
  4. Localization Testing.
  5. Compatibility Testing.
  6. Reliability Testing.
  7. Usability Testing.

1. Performance Testing

To ensure that the application is working fine with the expected load. That means to know the performance of the application like sensitivity and stability under this stage.

2. Load Testing

The load testing purpose is to know the behavior of the application under the specific expected load.

3. Security Testing

Security testing means to make sure that the application data and resources are secure from the possible intruders.

4. Localization Testing

To verify the quality of the product this localization testing is used.

5. Compatibility Testing

To check that the application is working fine all types of browsers.

6. Reliability Testing

To know that the application can perform a failure-free operation for a specific time and environment.

7. Usability Testing

It is just like end-user testing. The testing purpose is to know that the application is easy to understand, easy to learn and attractive to the end-user.

About the Author

You may also like these